YA Roundup


I apologize to my readers for neglecting this blog. I’ve been really busy with work (I took on a short term contract to supplement my library job), volunteer commitments, allergic reactions, and holiday parties. Oh boy!

It’s time for another YA links round-up. Some are a few weeks old now (sorry!) but I hope you will find them as interesting as I did:

  • There was an excellent interview with Suzanne Collins, author of The Huger Games trilogy in the Huffington Post recently. It’s well worth reading.
  • GreenBeanTeenQueen on running a Teen Library Council. I personally found this post very helpful as I’m thinking about starting a TRAC (Teen Reader’s Advisory Committee) at the library I work at.
  • Figment.com is a new writing community for teens. It’s a free platform for young people to read and write fiction, both on their computers and on their cellphones. Check out this article about it from the New York Times.  It sounds quite similiar to the Canadian-based Wattpad, which has a sizeable community of teenaged writers.
  • Today, the Free Technology for Teachers blog highlighted a resource called Own Your Space, a free, ebook for tweens and teens on how to protect themselves and their stuff online. I’ve only had time to browse through it quickly, but it looks to be a very comprehensive and informative resource.  I really like the anime-style artwork.

Posted on December 7, 2010, in by Erin, YA Roundup. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for linking to our post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

