The CYBILS are here!


CYBLARGEI’m delighted to report that I’m participating in this year’s Cybils Awards! I’m a first-round panelist in the MG/YA Non-Fiction category.

The Cybils are a series of book awards given annually by a community of 90+ bloggers who write about children’s and young adult books.  I first learned about the awards a couple of years ago when I was a newly hired children’s book publicist and a couple of my titles were nominated.  At the time, I wasn’t very connected to the kidlit blogging scene, and I was amazed to discover how vibrant the community was.

Now in its fourth year, the Cybils award program aims to reward  children’s and young adult authors (and illustrators) whose books combine “the highest literary merit and kid appeal” and to foster a sense of community among bloggers who write about children’s and YA literature, highlight the best reviewers, and provide a forum for other kidlit book lovers.

What I like most about the Cybils is that nominations are open to the public. From October 1st (that’s tomorrow!) to October 15 anyone can nominate a title using the form on the Cybils website. Eligible titles must be in written in English and published in the last year.

There are two rounds of judging:  The first-round panelists (that’s me) will read and evaluate the books on the nominated list. Panelists will discuss the nominated books confidentially and come up with a shortlist to be announced in January.  The shortlisted titles will then be passed on to the round two judges for more evaluation, discussion, and selection of a winner. The names and blogs of the panelists for both rounds are publicly listed on the Cybils website.

For a more detailed description of the process, visit the Cybils website. I also recommend Elizabeth Burns’ overview of the Cybils over at A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy.

I am super excited to be on a panel. I’m sure this experience will help me improve my book reviewing skills, connect with other bloggers, and best of all, discover tons of terrific children’s and YA books.

Posted on September 30, 2009, in by Erin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

