YA on Twitter


I was skeptical of Twitter up until fairly recently. I didn’t quite “get” what the point of it was. But then, I was asked to develop an instructional program on Twitter for the library I worked at this summer, which led me to discover just what makes it such an interesting and useful tool.

For me, it’s proved to be a great way to keep on top of what’s happening in the library and children’s and young adult publishing worlds. There are a ton of YA authors using this social networking application to connect with readers, librarians, and other writers. Check out this impressive list of authors on twitter compiled by Alessandra Lee at Blogging YA. Some of my favourite YA authors on twitter include: Ellen Hopkins (@EllenHopkinsYA), Courtney Summers (@courtney_s), Helaine Becker (@helainebecker) and Kelley Armstrong (@kelleyarmstrong).

Twitter has also helped me to connect with the sizable and active community of YA book bloggers. Many use Twitter not only as a tool to drive traffic to their blogs, but also to prompt discussion and debate among bloggers on the common issues they face.

I’ve also found that following publishers on twitter is a quick and easy way stay abreast of new books and publishing trends. Most publishers tweet links to great reviews their books have received and reminders about author events. Twitter contests are also popular. For instance, I recently won a copy of Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater from Scholastic Canada by tweeting an interesting fact about werewolves.

I’ve not quite mastered the art of tweeting yet, but I’m slowly starting to get the hang of it. You can follow me at @ErinWalk.

Posted on November 20, 2009, in by Erin. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve been addicted to Twitter for about a year and a half now, and love how it’s such a great medium for book talk and other awesome talk.

    Another YA-related twitter account that you may want to check out ReadWriteTweet on Twitter. It posts a whole bunch of YA news, reviews, etc.

Leave a Reply

