YALSA Award Shortlists + Gift Ideas


It’s award season! YALSA has released their list of finalists for their brand-new Award of Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. This year’s five nominees are:

Non-fiction shortlist

  • Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone
  • Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
  • Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
  • The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P. T. Barnum by Candace Fleming
  • Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland by Sally M. Walker

I’m familiar with most of these titles as they’ve all been nominated for the CYBILS in the MG/YA non-fiction category, for which I am a first-round judge. I loved Claudette Colvin, and Almost Astronauts is fascinating. I’ll be delving into The Great and Only Barnum tomorrow—my review copy arrived on Friday. I’d really like to get my hands on a copy of Charles and Emma, but I’ve not had much luck finding one here in London. I probably won’t find a copy in time to submit my shortlist for the CYBILS, but I will seek out a copy when I’m home for Christmas in Toronto, because I really want to read it.

This month, YALSA also announced the finalists for The William C. Morris YA Debut Award. Now in its second year, the award honours a YA novel written by a newly-published author. The finalists are:

  • Ash by Malinda Lo
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  • The Everafter by Amy Huntley
  • Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan
  • hold still by Nina LaCour

Check out this handy PDF of Morris finalist bookmarks YALSA has created.

This is pretty neat: Are you thinking about purchasing a YA novel for someone this holiday season? YA author and blogger Melissa Walker has offered to send a signed bookplate to anyone who buys one of her books, dedicated to whomever you wish. Signed books make great gifts!

I also really enjoyed Abby (the) Librarian’s more gift suggestions for Twilight fans. I’m dying to read the copy of Shiver I won a few months ago from Scholastic. It’s at the top of my to-read list! For more great gift ideas, check out the rest of Abby’s Twelve Days of Giving for 2009. You’ll find tons of great book recommendations for everyone on your holiday list.

Posted on December 14, 2009, in by Erin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

