Return of the Baby-sitters Club


According to this piece in today’s New York Times,  Scholastic plans to reissue repackaged and revised versions of the first two books in the successful Baby-sitters Club series this April.

A prequel called The Summer Before, penned by Ann M. Martin, the original author of The Baby-Sitters Club books, is also slated for publication.

I was one of many preteens who eagerly followed the baby-sitting adventures of Kristy, Mary Anne, Claudia and Stacey in the early 90s. I even owned The Baby-Sitters Club board game.  I amassed quite of a collection of BSC books, and was devastated when I returned home from university one summer to discover that my parents had donated the whole lot of them to Goodwill.

I’m delighted that they will be making a comeback, and I’m not alone.  According to David Levithan, editorial director at Scholastic,  “This whole generation of girls who had grown up reading The Baby-Sitters Club were now teachers, librarians or mothers…And at any opportunity they had, they let us know they wanted them back. We couldn’t go to a convention without having women come up to us and say, ‘You’ve got to bring these books back.’”

Levithan goes on to say that while the books will be aimed at a slightly younger age group than it was originally (7-10 rather than 8-12), “some likely readers are older fans, many of them now in their 20s and 30s, who recall the series fondly if not with rabid passion.”

Posted on December 31, 2009, in by Erin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Urg! I would hate if I left one day and came back home to find out that my mom had given all my baby sitters books away!!!
    I am trying to collect all the books in the series now grandma and it is very fun they are my favorite! I am really sad though cause when I finish reading one I look at the back and it says stuff like “get your baby sitters tee-shirt!” and then I look a little down and they write “offer ends April 1995”
    and I am like hey? that’s not fair ! I couldn’t even crawl then!!
    It’s disappointing but I like reading the books so whatcha gonna do right?

    but I do wish that they still sold those types of things on the market still, I would surely purchase them!

    Hey I like your blog (:

    ~Gabbie

  2. My mom sold mine too! If I would’ve known they were going to redesign the covers I would’ve fought harder to keep some of them. I love the old covers.

Leave a Reply

