Reading and blogging goals for 2010.


Kristen at Bookworming in the 21st Century is encouraging bloggers to post their New Year’s Resolutions. I prefer to call them goals rather than resolutions.  I’ve decided to post my blogging- and reading-related goals for 2010.

Here are a few of my blogging-related goals:

  • Post more reviews. To start, I’m going to aim for at least one or two reviews per week. This is a realistic goal given the many demands on my time in the coming months (i.e. finishing up grad school, my part-time library job, volunteering, committee work, etc.)
  • Improve the quality of my blog content. Rather than simply directing visitors to interesting news and links, I will try to make more in-depth, insightful posts.
  • Leave more comments on other blogs. I plan to lurk less and comment more (provided I have something meaningful to contribute to the conversation).
  • Participate in the 2010 Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge.  To complement this, I will also be adding a regular feature to the blog called Library Loot in which I will share and discuss the books I’ve checked out from the library. I will most  likely limit this feature to posts about the young adult  materials I’ve borrowed, in keeping with the theme of this blog.
  • Move Erin Explores YA to a new hosting site with its own domain. My awesome friend and blogging guru Ehren is helping me out with this. I like WordPress, but I find it a bit limiting in some ways. Ehren’s made some suggestions that will give me more flexibility and control.

As for reading-related goals, here’s what I would like to accomplish in 2010:

  • Read all of this year’s White Pine Award nominees by March.  As a member of the White Pine steering committee and an ambassador for the Forest of Reading program, I feel almost obgliated to have read all of the shortlisted books. I’m well on my way to accomplishing this goal having read 5 of the 10 already.
  • Give ebooks a chance.  While I don’t think that ebooks will ever usurp my preference for physical books, I’m curious how the two compare in terms of the reading experiences they offer. I will start by reading a couple of electronic ARCs I’ve received on the computer screen, though eventually I’d like to try using an ebook app on a smartphone and/or a device like the Sony Reader or the Kindle.

So, these are my plans for 2010. What are your New Year’s blogging and or reading resolutions?

Posted on January 2, 2010, in by Erin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this list of goals! It’s good to know about the support your library challenge. Thanks!

  2. I’m going to post a book review every day this month. I’m going to apply to be a CYBILS panelist this summer. I’m going to read every new book that gets donated to our school library.

Leave a Reply

