Return of the The Little Prince


The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry has been one of my all-time favourite books ever since I read it in OAC French class more than 10 years ago. Anyone who knows me, knows I’m a sucker for anything that’s Little Prince-related.   According to this article in The Guardian, the classic French novella, first published in 1943, “is set for a spectacular return.”  There’s a 52-part animated series, video game, and a 3D film in the works.

This week  I was surprised to learn that there ‘s also a graphic novel adaptation of The Little Prince coming out this September. I have mixed feelings about this.  I love the original so much that I almost don’t want to see it reinterpreted.  At the same time, I think the graphic novel format could bring this beautiful tale to new audiences and perhaps inspire them to pick up the original. The graphic novel has been getting some favourable reviews from some of the blogs I follow. See BookLust and Estella’s Revenge‘s takes on it, for example.

In any case, it looks like there will be a few more items to add to my Little Prince collection!

Posted on August 3, 2010, in YA News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

