Moving…


If you’re wondering why the blog has been so quiet lately, it’s because I’m in the process of moving and preparing for a new job. My things are stored in various places (storage unit, parents’ basement, the new apartment) at the moment, which is a bit of a nightmare. I’ve been moving boxes and shopping for things for the new place over the last week or so. I won’t be moving my furniture in until next weekend, though. Have you ever tried to rent a truck for the Labour Day weekend? I don’t recommend it, unless its absolutely necessary. Also, my movers  (a.k.a. my brother and his friend) certainly weren’t going to give up their last long weekend of the summer to help me move.

This works out just fine, since I have not started my new job yet. I was supposed to start last week, but my vulnerable sector police check did not arrive on time. It’s still not here and I’m getting kind of anxious about it. The last time I got one for Peel Region, it arrived in less than 10 days (and I believe there was an option to pay to get it faster). In York Region, I had to pay $40 and was told it would take “2-3 weeks.” It’s been almost 4 weeks now. I guess maybe there’s a larger volume of searches this time of year with people starting new jobs in schools and day cares, etc. Also, I know the process has changed slightly since the last time I submitted a vulnerable records search.  I just hope it doesn’t take too much longer to clear me. My new job won’t be “official” until the form arrives.

Posted on September 4, 2010, in Other. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

