In My Mailbox (1)


In My Mailbox is a meme created by The Story Siren. It is a list of what books you have received over the previous week, either for review, from the library, from the bookstore, etc.

Thomas Allen & Son, Ltd. sent me a copy The Secret of Ka by Christopher Pike. I haven’t read Christopher Pike since I was a pre-teen. I’ve always been interested in Djinn mythology, and it’s one of the few paranormal themes which hasn’t been explored to death in YA lit. I read and enjoyed As You Wish by Jackson Pearce not too long ago. I wonder how this will compare.  Interestingly,  several reviewers are slamming Pike for being culturally ignorant and using aliases to respond to bloggers’ criticism of the book. Hmmm…I’ll reserve judgement until I’ve read it.

I received the audiobook version of The Boy Book from E. Lockhart herself.  She offered a few copies on Twitter last week and I was one of the lucky recipients!  E. Lockhart is one of my favourite YA authors and I am especially fond of the Ruby Oliver series. I’m eagerly awaiting the fourth (and final?) book, Real Live Boyfriends, due out December 28th.

I also won a Zombies vs. Unicorn poster from Simon and Shuster Canada  (@SimonPulseCA) on Twitter. This one’s going in the prize cabinet for my teen programs at work. I am really looking forward to reading the book. I’m a fan of short story collections in general, and this one features an all-star lineup of contributors including Cassandra Clare, Libba Bray, Meg Cabot, Garth Nix and Scott Westerfeld, with Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier as editors.

I attended the launch for Oleg Lipchenko’s Humpty Dumpty and Friends at the beautiful Nicholas Hoare Books in Toronto. Lipchenko was presented with the 2009 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Award by IBBY Canada for his work on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I’m on a strict budget, so I had to limit myself to purchasing only one of the two books.  Alice went home with me, but they are both positively gorgeous.  The Tundra Books blog posted photos from the event. If you look closely, you’ll see me and my friend Mahrukh checking out some of Lipchenko’s amazing original artwork.

And that’s it for IMM this week. I plan to spend my Thanksgiving Monday delving into some of these.

Posted on October 10, 2010, in In My Mailbox. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

