In My Mailbox (2)


In My Mailbox is a meme created by The Story Siren. It is a list of what books you have received over the previous week, either for review, from the library, from the bookstore, etc.

I received a copy of The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catherine Jinks. The catalogue copy describes it as a “murder-mystery comedy of errors” and “the perfect anecdote to slick vampire novels.” Jinks has a new book coming out this spring called The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group.

I also checked out two graphic novels from the library:

Stitches: A Memoir by David Small is one of those must-reads that’s seems like it’s been recommended everywhere. I’m excited to finally read it. The hold queue for it was a mile long.

Twilight: The Graphic Novel (vol. 1). The multiple copies of the Twilight books circulate heavily in my branch, but the graphic novel not so much. I think the artwork is beautiful, but I’m curious how the  story will translate in graphic novel format.

Oh—I almost forgot! My good friend Elaine who lives in Mumbai sent me two YA books published by HarperCollins India.  I love checking out YA from other parts of the world.

Potato Chips by by Anshuman Mohan tells the story of a young man struggling to fit into his new school. Mohan is just 15 years old, and he was only 13 when he wrote the story!

Extreme American Makeover by Mitali Perkins is the first book in a series about a Pakistani-born adopted daughter of an American presidential candidate. It was originally published in the U.S. by Penguin in 2007.

Posted on October 17, 2010, in In My Mailbox. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

