In My Mailbox (3)


In My Mailbox is a meme created by The Story Siren. It is a list of what books you have received over the previous week, either for review, from the library, from the bookstore, etc.

How serendipitous! Moments after I posted my Waiting on Wednesday piece featuring Tempestuous by Lesley Livingston, HarperCollinsCanada announced they were giving away an ARC on Twitter…and I won! Yay! The book arrived last week, but was accidentally delivered to my upstairs neighbour and didn’t make it into my hands until this morning.

At work (a.k.a the library), I checked out Fire by Kristen Cashore. This is a sort of prequel/companion book to Cashore’s Graceling. It appeared on quite a few “Best of” lists for 2009, and was the winner of the 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction.

I also borrowed Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. This book has been on my radar for months, but of course, I was at the mercy of the holds queue. I’ve heard that it is reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird, which is one of my all-time favourite classics.

My third library book of the week was Tyranny by Lesley Fairfield. I want to try to read most (or all) of this year’s Governor General’s Award nominees for children’s text.  Tyranny is a bit of an anomaly in this category in that it’s actually a graphic novel.

For review, I received Annexed by Sharon Dogar. This book tells a fictionalized account of the Anne Frank story from the point-of-view of Peter van Pel, the teenage boy who was in hiding with the Frank family. This definitely piqued my interest since not too long ago I worked as  Research Assistant on a project exploring Holocaust literature for children. This may go to the top of my To Read pile. Thanks to Thomas Allen & Sons for sending it to me. I’ll definitely be reviewing this on Erin Explores YA in the hopefully-not-too-distant future.

That’s all for this week. What did you get?

Posted on November 1, 2010, in In My Mailbox. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hope you enjoy Beautiful Creatures, I thought it was a fantastic read.

  2. I’m a little more than halfway through my ARC of Tempestuous and it’s a great read. Hope you enjoy it too!

  3. You are going to LOVE Fire. Don’t try to compare it to Graceling, just devour and enjoy it. They’re both incredible! (Hmm does that count as a comparison I wonder.)

Leave a Reply

